Cirrus Aircraft Vision Jet to be Awarded the 2017 Robert J. Collier Trophy


Cirrus Aircraft SF50 Vision Jet, photographed on March 27, 2017 from Wolfe Air Cessna O-337.

Cirrus Aircraft SF50 Vision Jet, photographed on March 27, 2017 from Wolfe Air Cessna O-337.

Washington, 4 April 2018 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is pleased to announce that Cirrus Aircraft has been named as the recipient of the 2017 Robert J. Collier Trophy for “… designing, certifying, and entering-into-service the Vision Jet – the world’s first single-engine general aviation personal jet aircraft with a whole airframe parachute system.”

The Collier Trophy is awarded annually “…for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.” At 106 years old, the Collier Trophy represents a timeline of air and space achievements, marking major events in the history of flight.

“At Cirrus Aircraft we are honored and humbled to be awarded the 2017 Collier Trophy and to even be mentioned among the giants in aviation and space research that have won before us,” said Dale Klapmeier, Cirrus Aircraft Co-founder and CEO. “The arrival of the Vision Jet has forever changed general aviation and personal transportation and the 2017 Collier Trophy is dedicated to all of our employees and partners who have been a part of the development, production and now delivery of this game-changing airplane. We will celebrate this great honor by continuing to focus on our core mission of creating safer aircraft, safer pilots and safer skies.”

“For more than a century, the Collier Trophy has recognized the greatest achievements in aviation in America,” stated Greg Principato, President and CEO of NAA.  “By revolutionizing general and personal aviation, Cirrus Aircraft, with their Vision Jet, has added to a great and historic Collier legacy. We at the National Aeronautic Association congratulate them on their achievement and look forward to the presentation of the Collier Trophy on June 14th.”

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee, comprised of 25 aviation and aerospace professionals, convened on April 3, 2018 to hear presentations from nine nominees.


The Collier Trophy Selection Committee:

Richard Aboulafia, Teal Group

Jim Albaugh, Chairman, NAA

Daniel Bachmann, Embraer

Angel Barboza, Gulfstream Aerospace

Darby Becker, GE Aviation

Scott Bishop, Lockheed Martin

Steve Callaghan, Vice Chairman, NAA

George Carneal, Counsel, NAA

Steve Champness, Atlanta Aero Club

Jack Dailey, Smithsonian’s National

Air & Space Museum (Ret.)

Margaret Jenny, RTCA

TC Jones, Northrop Grumman

Tim Keating, Boeing

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier

Dick Koenig, Commemorative Air Force

Dr. John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences

Dr. Samantha Magill, Honda Aircraft Company

Jeremy Martin, Bell Helicopter

Don Pointer, Dassault Falcon

Darryl Roberson, Rolls-Royce, North America

Todd Simmons, Cirrus Aircraft

Bob Stangarone, Stangarone & Associates

Robert Sturgell, Rockwell Collins

Clyde Woltman, Aerojet Rocketdyne


The Collier Trophy will be formally presented at the Annual Robert J. Collier Trophy Dinner on June 14, 2018 with the location to be announced. For more information or to view a complete list of previous recipients of the Collier Trophy, please visit